Via Paper Vessels

Lately I’ve been keeping my eye out for a pencil cup for Boyfriend, who is a serial pencil-loser and could just plain use some desk organization (I put a pair of embroidery scissors down on his desk and finally found them again over a week later). Turns out it’s really easy to find pencil cups. If you like cute, girly things, you’ll have lots of selection. If you’re not the cute, girly type, you can get a wire mesh pencil cup–these have selection too though. You can get black or silver. I know guys don’t care that much about having pretty desk accessories, but why isn’t anyone marketing to women who have to look at their boyfriends’ and husbands’ desk space and want to see something nice? Of course, there are a handful of products filling this gap in the marketplace. Upon looking at the product description for this desk organizer at Anthropologie, I discovered it wasn’t constructed from ceramic (which I had originally thought), but from recycled leathermuch more interesting and fun.

Rather than buy this “desk boat,” which is the wrong color for me, I want a handmade one out of 3mm wool felt–partly because it would look great, and partly because I really want an excuse to work with some of that astonishingly thick felt. This desk boat’s resemblance to a paper boat got me thinking more about paper transportation vessels. I know mustaches seem to be the new, trendy, hipster-y thing right now (go to Urban Outfitters, find five thousand different mustache kitchen accessories), but why not bring in paper planes and boats instead?  They have the same whimsy and quirkiness of mustaches without the reminder of facial hair.

1. Fixed Flight Necklace from Anthropologie
2. Flying Paper Planes Wall Decal by Blik
Another great felt-in-place-of-paper project? Felt paper plane mobile (probably with felt thinner than 3mm). All these paper planes have me adding a new item to my schedule this weekend: long-distance paper plane contest. I think I’ll have some free time on Saturday afternoon…
Comments
One Response to “Via Paper Vessels”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] the “desk boat” from Anthropologie I wrote about last week? My DIY version is nearly done and looking good, after working out some kinks in the […]



Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
