In Progress: Cities Mini-Calendar

I never quite understand the point of those miniature desk calendars–the ones so small that no one could possibly write down an appointment, or even fit a star onto a date to mark it as important. I also love miniature things though, so while I am well aware of the pointlessness of postcard sized calendars, I nonetheless find them irresistibly adorable. For awhile now a couple of mini-calendar designs have been floating around my brain, and 2012 is now approaching quickly enough to motivate me to get to the art store and get some supplies.

The design I finally settled on is screen-printed maps of the cities I visited on a trip to Europe last summer; I’ve just begun drawing out the first maps, which I plan to cut out to create a negative stencil of each city and then use with a silkscreen. While this means that my screen won’t be permanent (like a screen made through photo emulsion or the use of a filler would be), it also means I can use just one screen instead of twelve.

Hopefully I’ll be able to show off my own mini-calendar soon, but for now, here’s a few of my favorite store-bought examples:

1. 2012 12 Month by Month Calendar by Leah Duncan
2. 2012 Dogs to Love Calendar from Paper Source
3. 2012 Crested Shield Calendar by The Paper Thieves

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
