The City by the Bay

Mom and I took Boyfriend to San Francisco today. I’ll share a few of our photos, but what you’ll want to look at more closely is some of my favorite SF-related artwork. The row houses, bridges, cold Pacific waters, and “colorful” residents certainly make for some fun drawings, but it’s fog that I associate with the city more than anything else. Having grown up in the Bay Area, there’s something familiar and comfortable about the ever-present mist hovering around the city, especially when it envelops the opposite ends of bridges or when you catch a glimpse of the silver-grey vapor drifting into fluffy puddles between the hills.

My highlight was the farmers’ market at the Ferry Building, though we also went to Fisherman’s Wharf and Pier 39. If you’ve done much travelling, you’ll know that it doesn’t take long to realize that all major cities have a tourist trap street–over-crowded, full of shops selling little statues of landmarks and sweatshirts, street performers at every turn. Brussels has the streets surrounding Grand Place, Madrid has Gran Via, and San Francisco has Fisherman’s Wharf. I generally spend more time downtown, close to the SF MOMA (which has some beautiful Matisse pieces) and the Bay Bridge.

1. San Francisco Hill Houses Art Print by Laura Amiss
2. Happy Holidays from San Francisco Letterpress Card by Spring Olive
3. The Literary Map of San Francisco Laser-Cut Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle by Paper Portraits
4. Lombard Street Greeting Card by Tomoko Maruyama
5. San Francisco City Map Art Print by Jenna Sue Map Shop
On the subject of the coast, keep an eye out next week for new projects including the Anthropologie-inspired “desk boat” (pencil cup).

Comments
2 Responses to “The City by the Bay”
  1. mmgarnes says:

    I love this art!

    I grew up on the SF peninsula, and I still find new things every time I go to SF. The city is endless.

    • Kate says:

      Thanks! I think my favorite is the wood puzzle–I like some of the other pictures better but wood puzzles are so fun!

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
