A little poster told me…

I like quotes; I’m a writer, after all. Normally, though, I don’t feel a nagging desire to have my favorite quotes–inspirational, ironic, or otherwise–in poster form on my bedroom wall. Quote posters (nearly) always feel cheesy to me, as if both the poster and its owner are trying too hard to broadcast good vibes, almost like they’re trying to cheer me up. Perhaps spending too much time in classrooms littered with motivational quotes has skewed my perspective, but I half expect to encounter quotes when I’m in exactly the wrong mood for feel-good artwork. No, Beatles, the sun isn’t coming here again–actually it’s quite gloomy. Make lemonade with those lemons? Actually, lemonade gives me a stomach ache. It’s safe to say I have a rule against typographic art.

Of course, there’s always an exception that proves the rule–in this case, a handful of exceptions offered up by 29 Black Street, ReStyle Shop, Bird Ave., and Little Things Studio. I’m enamored with all of the prints shown below: some because of their offbeat message, others for their bold graphic character, and a few just because they’re amusing.

From left:
1. Shine on You Crazy Diamond A3 by ReStyle Shop
2. Always Do What You Are Afraid to Do Teeny by Little Things Studio
3. Love Sweet Love Giclee Print by 29 Black Street

A Ship Is Safe in Harbor by Little Things Studio

From left:
1. Everything Reminds Me… by 29 Black Street
2. Pet Poster: Hound Dog Love Your Breed Art Print by Bird Ave.

I love these dog-related typographic prints. They’re not trying to cheer me up or convince me to reach for the stars; they’re just making sure everyone knows I’m obsessed with my pets.

You Make Me Happy When Skies Are Gray A4 by ReStyle Shop

Usually I try to avoid anything that seems to appropriate for Valentine’s Day: hearts, love songs, and so on. However, ReStyle Shop’s prints approach infatuation in a new way: a quirky vintage typewriter illustrates a heart, bold fonts in vibrant hues express love in a modern way.

Counterclockwise from top:
1. Vintage Typewriter Poster by ReStyle Shop
2. Quote Poster: Beer Is Proof that God Wants Us to Be Happy by Bird Ave.
3. Children’s Print Ba Ba Black Sheep by Bird Ave.

Comments
3 Responses to “A little poster told me…”
  1. D'arcy says:

    I agree Kate, some quotes are too try hard, but those are great! I love the dog ones best :)

  2. mmgarnes says:

    Ooh I love the Ba Ba Black Sheep poster, Kate! :)

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
