Crayon Box Knits

Opening up a brand new box of crayons–not the little eight color packs, but the giant 64 (or 128!) shade sets that has a crayon sharpener in the back–is an oft-referenced experience of joy. I’ve mentioned in the past that my favorite part of any project is almost always picking out which colors to use (and for sewing, which prints), so obviously the new-crayon phenomena strikes a chord with me. Recently, I was browsing Amy Butler‘s website, hunting for inspiration from her fabrics and sewing patterns, and came across catalogs of…knitwear?

My discovery was accompanied with a great deal of delight, not only because her patterns are some of the most fun, creative, and usable I’ve seen, but because virtually flipping through her pattern-books turned out to be the fiber-based equivalent of opening up that brand new 128 crayon set. Tracking down these patterns borders on difficult (I still haven’t bought any), but the adorable-t0-challenging-ratio is reasonable, and you can bet I’ll be ordering at least one of these books in the near future. Below are some of my favorites, complete with bright corals that will put a smile on your face if you like 2012’s color of the year, plus a crayon box full of other vibrant hues I’d love to see in the future (hint, hint, Pantone).

I usually prefer to feature work from more independent artisans, but these patterns are too charming and cheerful to pass up. Don’t worry, Etsy-lovers: with the Renegade Handmade Holiday Craft Fair in San Francisco this weekend, expect to see plenty of indie work again soon! In the meantime, are there any artists or crafters you’d love to see spotlighted here? I love suggestions!

Comments
2 Responses to “Crayon Box Knits”
  1. I think that knitted necklace is so cool! Love the vibrant colours!

  2. katayah says:

    I love the hotpink chair although it must have been tons of work. But it’s gorgeous. I wish I could knit that, but I’m not talented at knitting at all!

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
