Renegade Handmade SF

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll probably be a little surprised to learn that I’m not much of a crafts fair person. Actually, I generally dislike any type of fair, festival, parade, or other large and noisy gathering. Case in point: Boyfriend and I unwittingly showed up in San Sebastian, Spain the week of the city’s very large and important week-long festival, Semana Grande–it was borderline disastrous. I find crowds of that scale overwhelming, which often makes me at best unenthusiastic about whatever event is taking place, so I was making an exception to my usual ban on festivals, fairs, and the like when I went to the Renegade Holiday Fair in San Francisco yesterday. After just ten minutes there, I knew it was most definitely worth breaking my rule to attend.

I was thrilled to see a number of my favorite Etsy shops in person, and even more excited to find a handful of new artisans I love. Ork Posters‘ typographic maps were perfect for feeding my recent addiction to map artwork.

I took home Ork Posters’ Paris Arrondissements Map in Classic Black & White

Leafcutter Designs had the most unusual and creative goodies I’ve seen. My favorites by far were their miniature postal service and matchbox theaters (complete with scripts and characters) that could fit in your pocket.

I also couldn’t leave without one of Leafcutter Designs’ tiny packages

However, my favorite discovery of the day was Joe Wirtheim’s retro-inspired graphic posters for his project, the Victory Garden of Tomorrow. The bold prints and posters sprouted from Wirtheim’s desire to create art with a message, his perceived parallels between the modern world and the affairs of the late 1930s and 1940s, and research into World War II era propaganda artwork. These posters give a modern and gorgeous twist to the war effort’s original call to help the war effort by donating metals and planting vegetable gardens.

Grow Food Screen Printed Poster

I was also pleased to see Son of a Sailor,

Brass Geometric Handpainted Pendant Necklace
I chose one of these tiny charms in mint green

Drywell,

Detailed Beer Diagram

Small Adventures,

Lumberjack Cards

and Sarah Paloma Pottery.

Glaze Test Cup

Comments
2 Responses to “Renegade Handmade SF”
  1. hello100blog says:

    Reblogged this on Hello100blog.

  2. urbanpetite says:

    Glad you enjoyed it! There’s was so much going on that I didn’t see Leafcutter designs! And I love Victory Garden of Tomorrow’s prints!

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
