Get Cozy: Part 1

The day after Christmas always feels a little strange–a mix between flat (though not quite disappointment) and just plain forgetfulness that the holiday has passed. This year I figured out that at least part of my dismay at the close of the Christmas season results from the weather. When cold winds roll in around October (or November), it means a new season is starting, one that culminates in the holidays, full of cozy evenings and sparkling lights. After Christmas, there’s nothing left of winter to look forward to except for cloudy days and more cold weather (okay, I know it’s not that bad in California–but California is all I know, and here, 60 degrees is cold).

Of course, there are a handful pros associated with chilly nights. While I’m not exactly the best at being patient and just taking things as they come, this year I plan to try a little harder to appreciate the opportunity winter offers to curl up with a blanket and a mug of hot chocolate. Today I’m sharing a collection of pillows and quilts I’d love to get cozy with (or admire hanging on the wall while I put on a sweatshirt instead). Later this week I’ll show off some of the beautiful blankets my mom has made for me over the years, including the trio of handmade coziness I received this Christmas. I know, I know–we’d all much rather be in Hawaii waiting out the rest of the winter, but with a few beautiful blankets and a steaming cup of tea, I think anyone can do just fine.

Clockwise from top left:
1. Navy Blue Modern Tribal Cotton Pillow Cover by Little Attic
2. Pixie Dust Lap Blanket Pattern from the Purl Bee
3. Modern Improv Wool Quilt by Daintytime
4. Small Art Quilt TINY No. 11 by Modern Quilts

Extra points to Purl Bee if the materials for that blanket include the cuddly cat, too.

1. Under the Trampoline Art Quilt by Alexia Abegg
2. Alliance, Nebraska Art Quilt by Alexia Abegg

Alexia Abegg’s bright and playful quilts are the perfect prescription for a case of seasonal anxiety (a UV light box wouldn’t hurt, either).

Clockwise from top left:
1. Baby Quilt, Orange Boxes by Barbara Perrino (back)
2. Geometric Quilt, Bricks by Barbara Perrino
3. Baby Quilt, Orange Boxes by Barbara Perrino (front)
4. Citrus Squeeze Quilt, 2010 by Fred Shand for Anthropologie
5. Vera Art Quilt by Alexia Abegg

One of my favorite parts of looking at a quilt is turning it over only to discover that the back is as beautiful as the front, as is the case with Barbara Perrino‘s quilts.

Clockwise from left:
1. Hand-Stitched Tribal Pillow Cover by Little Attic
2. Pendleton Blanket Weight Wool Throw Pillow, Color-Blocked by Urban Camp
3. Lapping Waves Quilt, 2010 by Fred Shand for Anthropologie

Hand-stitched pillows, geometric quilts, vibrant pops of color…who needs vitamin D anyway?

Comments
One Response to “Get Cozy: Part 1”
  1. awesome collection of cozy things, I love the quilts.

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
