Get Cozy: Part 2

I’m tired. And just a little out of breath. Apparently, that’s what happens when you try to photograph sixteen blankets in a short period. You really can’t judge me–I’m fit, I exercise everyday, I subscribe to Women’s Health. But taking pictures of sixteen blankets all in one session is exhausting. Every blanket you’ll see below was made by Mom or myself, and that isn’t even all the blankets Mom has made. In fact, that’s not even all the handmade quilts currently in our house, just my favorites. Earlier this year, I was rather impressed with myself for knitting Boyfriend an afghan for Christmas, and just today I was proud of myself for finally choosing fabric and a design for the quilt I’ve been planning to undertake for months. After seeing all of those quilts and afghans all stacked up, I feel far less accomplished than I did this morning. After all, I received three of those blankets (one large quilt, one small, and one afghan) as gifts just this Christmas season.

I think I was in kindergarten or first grade when Mom first started making quilts for me, and while I’ve accumulated enough blankets to easily last me a lifetime since then, she hasn’t stopped. Last August I came home to find an afghan knitted while I was traveling; during my freshman year of college, Mom gave me three quilts; for Christmas the year after that, one more quilt and an afghan. Many of the recent quilts are graphic, bright, and modern. Some of the older quilts are more intricate–beautiful, but not quite my preferred aesthetic. At age twenty, however, my favorite quilt remains the patchwork, plaid flannel blanket that has been loved for so long parts of the seem binding have been worn completely through to raw quilt edges.

A quick note: if you’ve been missing projects, there will be a new one tomorrow!

Comments
3 Responses to “Get Cozy: Part 2”
  1. Sarah says:

    These are gorgeous!

    • Kate says:

      Aren’t they? I wish I had the patience to make big/intricate projects like my mom, but when I try I almost always end up handing it off to her to finish three quarters of the way through.

  2. Martha Sherman says:

    Beautiful work, ladies.

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
