Suspended

I took a watercolor class the second semester of my senior year of college because of an error in my school’s registration portal. That semester was the first time I ever had a free space in my schedule, which I was going to fill with wheel-throwing–until the computers refused to let me add classes during my designated time slot. By the time I was able to register for classes, ceramics was full, but there was one spot left open in watercolor. Well, that system error was a blessing in disguise. The watercolor class I ended up in was not only wonderful, but taught by an outstandingly popular art instructor whose specialty was watercolor and thus was highly sought after; meanwhile, I repeatedly heard some negative feedback from a handful of frustrated and tired friends who had gotten into the ceramics class.

Watercolor paints are quite simply pure pigment suspended in water, making it easy to create brilliant colors and avoid elements of chalkiness and muddiness; the chemistry of watercolor paint also makes it translucent, not the easiest characteristic to deal with for beginners, those with unsteady hands, or even more experienced painters trying to fill a large area with a flat wash of color. Watercolor is the only painting class I’ve ever taken, and only the second art class (the first was a summer term ceramics class, necessary to fulfill general education requirements), and although I’d like to learn additional mediums, watercolor’s versatility makes it a good start. These vibrant pigments suspended in water are eye-catching and delightful however they’re used, and they transition easily from the simplest abstract lines to detailed trompe l’oeil style pieces; scroll to see what I mean! (You might also notice that cats are rather popular among watercolor artists.)

2012 Calendar/Watercolor Wash by Oh My Deer

1. Cat Art – Bop by The Dancing Cat
2. Ireland Love by Poppy and Pinecone

Flower Illustrations by Rebekka Seale

Kittens at Sea by Vivienne Strauss

European Summer Mementos (on cold press paper) by Me

Comments
4 Responses to “Suspended”
  1. Martha Sherman says:

    I really like your watercolor travel picture. It would make wonderful cards or a smallish poster.

  2. Great collection of watercolors. Thanks for the inspiration and for the visit!

  3. chellykins says:

    Love that calendar

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
