Bits & Pieces: Marisa Seguin

1. I know I’ve been talking about January bleakness for a while now, but it’s still on my mind. I miss green trees, and sun, and tomato salad. Since all of those summer delights are out of reach right now, I think the vibrant, enticing colors in Marisa Seguin‘s illustrations are just what I need–of course, her mouth watering ice cream inspired designs are helpful too. The Milwaukee-based Canadian artist’s “Here and There” series speaks directly to my love of map artwork, and I’ll definitely be Googling those San Francisco ice cream shops she mapped out for the San Francisco Chronicle, but I’m most impressed with her ability to make me actually enjoy looking at pictures of jellyfish, a creature I usually find a little creepy.

1 & 2. Illustrations for a feature in the July 10 issue of the San Francisco Chronicle
3. Funpop Press Illustrations

1. Illustrated Eiffel Tower Digital Print
2. Illustrated Paris Map Digital Print
3. Basilica San Marco Illustration Digital Print
4. Illustrated Venice Map Digital Print

Jellyfish Valentine

2. My favorite types of watercolor paintings to actually create are trompe l’oeil pieces like the one I posted about a couple of days ago. Putting together a two dimensional illustrated shadow box–or in the case of my painting this week, a memory box from my Europe trip–feels fun and personal, but the best part is putting in small details at the end: text on an airplane ticket, color variations in a piece of sea glass, and most of all subtle shadows that create the illusion that an object has suddenly jumped off the page. It’s a creative way to show off mementos that aren’t inherently display-worthy; in my case, various tickets, polished glass from Mediterranean beaches, pebbles from Nice, and just for fun, puzzle pieces from a wooden puzzle my family completed a few Thanksgivings ago. Seeing the work in progress and observing the basic silhouettes of each detail-less object is also rather pleasing, so I thought I’d share a picture of my workspace (i.e. the dining room table). Counterclockwise from top right: the real shadowbox, work in progress, completed piece.

3. Rube Goldberg devices are one of my favorite things. Despite the fact that I’ve been asking Boyfriend, who is an engineer, to make me one for a while now, he has yet to construct it–which is why I was delighted to find the work of Joseph Herscher on Colossal.

4. If you enjoyed my terrarium post last week, you’ll definitely want to stay tuned for this week’s project. Take a peek:

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
