A New Loop

If you read 3S regularly, you’ve probably put together a few facts about me by now. I like Etsy. I like modern, graphic design. I loooove dogs. And, of course, I have a thing for scarves and simple knitting patterns. The last two facts are about to be fully reinforced.

Fashion enthusiasts have surely realized that the winter of 2011-12 has been infinity loop scarf season. I previously featured three different scarf patterns on 3S, and not a single one was a traditional rectangle, and judging by my favorite stores’ stock this year, I’m not alone in my penchant for flowy, twisty, circle-y scarves. After providing details on how to make a knit circle scarf, a cowl, and a sewn loop, I could easily have considered my infinity scarf bases covered and moved on to some other cold weather accessory–hand-warmers, maybe. Instead, Mom and I got creative with the basic infinity loop and came up with the Knotted Circle Scarf (plus, I still haven’t finished the hand warmers I started back in September, but as soon as I learn to commit to a single project, those mitts are going to be great).

The rustic look of The Fibre Company’s beautiful, gently plied Acadia, the textural and simple box stitch, and a huge variety of enchanting color palette possibilities courtesy of The Fibre Company’s expertly dyed wool/silk/alpaca blend: each aspect combines to produce the perfect late-winter or early-spring scarf. With a weight that’s not too suffocating but sufficiently cozy to cure chilly days and hues reminiscent of a day collecting sea glass from California beaches, and unique interlocked ends that resemble laced fingers, I think I’ll be wearing this scarf for quite a few months still–even in my hometown’s mild winter and premature spring weather. Full details for knitting the Knotted Circle Scarf can be found at the end of this post.

The key to this scarf is the way you twist and “knot” it when you put it on, a step you can repeat on a wear-to-wear basis if you don’t want it to be permanently “knotted,” or that you can skip by putting a stitch or two at the back of the scarf so it can’t untwist (I’ll explain in more detail in the instructions below). If you don’t knit (or just don’t love circle scarves), there are plenty of ways to tie a regular scarf–in fact, the scarf tying tutorial business seems to be a booming industry lately. My favorite wrapping up suggestions come from blogger Wendy Nguyen’s 25 Ways to Wear a Scarf video on her blog, Wendy’s Lookbook. Another website claims to have a whopping 37 techniques, but it’s not quite as fun as Wendy’s video, below. I thought wearing a scarf was an easy way to spice up an otherwise simple outfit, but after surfing the web throwing on some cozy winter-wear is starting to seem as complicated as tying a tie!

Knotted Circle Scarf Details
The Fibre Company’s Acadia, 2 skeins each of 2 colors–I used driftwood and summersweet
Size 7 straight knitting needles

k = knit
p = purl
*…* = repeat to end, or as instructed

Beginning with color A, cast on 42 stitches
Row 1: k2, *p2, k2* to end
2: P2, *k2, p2* to end
3: Repeat row 2
4: Repeat row 1
Knit for 32″ (or to desired length) and change to color B, then proceed as before. Knit until the section made with color B is equal to or longer than the section made with color A. Cast off in pattern.

Take each end of the straight scarf and cross them as if you were twisting a pretzel, then bring them back up so that the colors stay on the same side (color A runs parallel to A, and B runs parallel to B), and seam. If you want to avoid re-twisting the scarf into a knot when you wear it, tack the two seams together where the colors join. If you want to be able to wear this scarf as a regular loop scarf at times, you will need to twist the scarf and match the points where the color changes (the midway point and the seam) in order to create a knot-like effect–it may take some fiddling at first, but once you get that “knot” to appear it’s like a magic trick!

Comments
3 Responses to “A New Loop”
  1. Martha Sherman says:

    Thank you for the scarf video – I have a lot of scarves, but don’t know what to do with them beyond a few basics. And I hope to make one of your knitted circle scarves.

  2. Diane says:

    Excellent video! Thanks!!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] A New Loop (January 11, 2012) Our most popular project ever! The knotted circle scarf was a collaboration […]



Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
