Spectrum: Blue, Orange, Yellow

Every time I walk into a store lately, I want to buy every item of spring clothing I see. It’s not so much that I like each piece I see; it’s that I love almost every color combination I encounter. I was thrilled to find out that Pantone‘s 2012 color was a vibrant, cheerful orange called tangerine tango, both because I had predicted this year’s color correctly (I’ve guessed right three out of the last four years!), but because my fondness for orange has been growing for quite a while now. I hated last year’s color: sickly sweet, obnoxiously pink honeysuckle. Some people enjoy the pastels and pinks and purples and flowers that were so readily available last spring, but I am not one of them. So, while I understand if someone disagrees with the statement I’m about to make, I’m pretty certain that I could never share a wardrobe with that person. What’s not to love about this season’s hues–a well-balanced mix of subtle neutrals and vivid tones made for spring flowers and beach blankets?

I’m especially charmed by the blue, orange, and yellow combinations that virtually scream summer, snow cones, and surf. Just one look at that striped cotton dress (below) has me remembering the sun-washed streets of Madrid–the one city in which I managed to encounter consistently hot weather on my European vacation last summer.

1. Free People New Romantics Color Me Bad Dress
2. Tufted Titmouse – Winter Edition Print by Lumadessa
3. Boston Art Print by Nate Duval
4. Two Plaids Print by Gold Teeth Brooklyn

Illustration by Klas Fahlen

1. Primavera Spectrum Holders from Anthropologie
2. Mid-Century Teapot Print by Noodlehug

London Cycling Poster by Galia Burnstein

Typographic Illustrations by Mary Kate McDevitt

Comments
3 Responses to “Spectrum: Blue, Orange, Yellow”
  1. I love that bright, tangerine colour. I used to have a bedspread that colour! So cheerful! Can’t wait til Spring!

  2. printmatter says:

    You’re right…Amazing things will happen.

    :-)

  3. makingmade says:

    Great colors! Also, I like that london cycling poster. I kinda want to buy it and hang it in my kitchen.

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
