Triple Digits

Last week was a rather eventful one for 3S: not only did we reach our 200th follower, you got to read our 100th post! (Plus our 101st one, too.) A countdown of the ten best posts out of the last hundred seemed an appropriate way to welcome Spin Sew Sketch into the world of triple digits. Cheers to another 100 posts, and to our 200+ followers!

The best of…

Projects

1o. A Garden in a Jar (January 14, 2012)
These terrariums were not only whimsical home decor and simple to make, they were one of our most liked and repinned DIYs on Pinterest. In fact, gardening posts seem consistently popular here at 3S, proving that while the plant-based projects categorized under the vague title “scraps” may not appear in 3S’s name, they’re certainly not second to paper or textile based posts!

9. You Can Never Have Enough… (December 14, 2011)
Scarves are great–the popularity of this loop-scarf tutorial proves it. If you check last December’s project round-up, you’ll discover an equally trendy and even more unique double-sided loop that’s just as easy to make as it’s single-print counterpart.

8. Time Wandering (December 10, 2011)
While yarn and fabric are fun, my favorite media are always paint and paper. The 2012 City Maps calendar is one of my personal favorite projects featured on 3S.

7. A New Loop (January 11, 2012)
Our most popular project ever! The knotted circle scarf was a collaboration between Mom and I that resulted in an original, two-toned, magically-tied loop scarf. If you’re a fan of the knitting website Ravelry, you may have recognized a very similar pattern that topped the list of popular knitting instructions recently–that’s because our knotted circle scarf inspired the version for sale at Ravelry. The best part of 3S’s version? It’s not just the original–it’s free!

Art

6. Confetti Celebrations (December 30, 2011)
Confetti is just pretty–and with my birthday next month, this post has me brainstorming whimsical and vibrant decoration ideas.

5. If narwhals are real… (January 13, 2012)
This post was fun to write and find images for, plus everyone loves Sasquatch.

4. Vintage Picture-Taking (January 5, 2012)
I had no idea how popular images of vintage cameras are until I wrote this post. Vintage Picture-Taking has more views than any other post by far, and easily surpasses any other post in search terms.

3. March/April Inspiration (March 10, 2012)
I introduced a monthly inspiration board post a few weeks ago, and ever since I’ve been looking forward to doing another one–look for it this week! To top it all off, inspiration boards finally gave me a reason to start using Pinterest.

Finds

2. Bits & Pieces: Small Caps Berlin (March 7, 2012)
My Bits & Pieces post features great finds weekly, but the week of March 7 was my favorite. Not only did I get to showcase great photos of Small Caps Berlin’s quirky products and studio, it was also the week I finally got around to featuring Portland boutique Alder & Co. and discovered French blog Griottes.

1. Outlast (March 5, 2012)
This is my number one favorite 3S post–the longer I look at Kaufman Mercantile, the more I find that I really need all those quality items I never knew existed. Boyfriend doesn’t quite understand why I want a hatchet or a set of hand drills, but you’ve read this post, so you get it, right?

{All image sources can be found on original posts}

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
