Hooks

I don’t know how to crochet. It doesn’t really sound like such a big deal–plenty of people have never picked up a strand of un-worked yarn and turned it into something useful. Of course, when you consider that I’ve been using knitting needles since toddler-hood, my lack of skills with a crochet hook sound almost preposterous. Admittedly, I’ve often thought of crochet as a slightly-less-cool version of knitting. A seasonally appropriate analogy might pose crochet as the navy blue Speedo brand one-piece to knitting’s Camille & Mark patchwork bikini–neither as young and trendy as that neon tribal-print Mara Hoffman get-up, but unless I’m swimming laps at the gym I know which one I’d rather be wearing. Lately, the abundance of crocheted dresses, swimwear, and accessories I continue falling for one after the other has started to change my mind; paired with a gold mine of colorful crochet inspiration on Pinterest, this summer season is painting a new portrait of crochet that is undoubtedly, stylishly bohemian. The hipster portion of my brain–the same part that frets over favorite bands appearing on Letterman and suddenly becoming over-popular–is enjoying the trend, and will probably be encouraging me to pick up some hooks soon.

1, 2, 3, 4

1, 2

Comments
One Response to “Hooks”
  1. I hope you will give crocheting a chance! Crocheting is really creative. It is kind of like drawing or building with yarn. I find it hard to follow patterns, but easy to create my own stitches that, once repeated, look pretty. Good luck :)

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright by Spin Sew Sketch 2012-2013

    All uncredited images are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S does not claim to own any credited images, and I do my best to link to original sources. If you would prefer not to have an image you own featured on 3S , let me know and I will remove it promptly!
  • Thanks for visiting Spin Sew Sketch!

    Please be aware that all original content, patterns, DIY projects, images, and artwork are the property of Spin Sew Sketch. 3S is thrilled if you feel like sharing our content, but please always remember to credit and/or link back to Spin Sew Sketch.
